Be A Good Girl

Here, I need you to arm this for me,
I know I’ve been crying on the phone all night with my lover,
Telling him how I hate my life,
Myself,
My marriage.
How I just want to end it all, here and now,
It would be so easy.
Except…I don’t know how to do it, dear daughter.
Daddy’s away now, and you’re the only one who knows how.
There’s something outside, I promise, I heard it, I just need to protect us.
So we’re safe.
You and your little brother, sleeping downstairs.
You heard me wrong before, please don’t tell anyone,
Just help me here, get this thing set up right,
I know Daddy taught you well.
It will all be over in a minute…I promise…
be a good girl, won’t you?

©Y.E.S 2014

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem in the voice of a member of your family. I decided to go deep.

Leave a Reply

